… Be in Her Skin (Part 2)!

I don’t know why it always seems to happen this way, but the minute fall comes around, I am literally so busy that I can’t even getting my life fully together.  This week was the start of a busy next few several weeks of weddings, wine tastings, work events, networking mixers… I think you get it without having to list every commitment I have for the next month. Even though I feel like I’m pulled in a million directions, I will say I do love some of the opportunities that I get to be apart of, including Curvy Cocktails!  The sexy and empowering event was held at a secret location in DTLA hosted by Ms. Kristine Thompson, creator of TrendyCurvy.com, and plus-size model, Candice Kelly with special guest Nina Parker, journalist & entertainment new corespondent.  When I RSVP’ed for the event, I knew I had to find a fashion-forward look that represented Curvy Girls Can.  Clearly, I could have purchased something new, but with being so busy, I decided to shop in my closest for something.  I ended up wearing a strapless black, front knot jumpsuit from Eloquii (here is a similar look) with a pink moto jacket from Torrid (here is another similar look) and metallic silver clutch by Marc Jacobs.  One of my biggest concerns for the evening was just being comfortable; I hate when I wear something that is super cute, but then I end up dreading that I wore it because I’m uncomfortable and miserable all night.

My make up was a contoured look with smokey purple embellished shadows and a light pink lip gloss (I’m obsessed with the L’Oréal Paris Rich Extraordinaire colors).  For hair, I had to go to my girl, aka #TheBlowoutQueen, Kelly at the KellyWxxd Glam Studio.  I usually am a controlla freak and have a specific look in mind, but this time I let Kel do her magic! She came up with this adorable braid “headband” with loose, wavy curls;  it was totally different from what I would have picked, but it was so cute!

My look for the night!

 

2471d0a9-9471-4430-b132-be6287122e96
Me with other bloggers from the night!

 

With lots of inspiration from Curvy Cocktails, I wanted to continue the conversation from last week’s #BeInYourSkin post. It was so amazing seeing these curvy women show off and show out in some of the sexiest and most polished plus sized looks.  So this week, I want to share some of my top looks from the event that will hopefully inspire you too!  The movers and shakers of this event were so positive and all about giving props where they were do, so the whole environment was filled with love… my favorite part of the night!

 

img_8204-1

Oh this jumpsuit!  I didn’t get to meet this beauty, but when I was looking through the post event IG feed, this caught my eye instantly as a top post.  The Shop at Image jump suit (here’s a similar look) with the exposed black push up bra that @lacenleopard wore, gave me life!  The whole look was so sharp and stylish that I couldn’t not feature it!


img_8202

This just smells of fierce to me!  From head to toe, @simonemiraposa #killedit at Curvy Cocktails.  The Rebdolls bodycon maxi dress paired with the floral jacket from IGIGI (here’s a similar bomber jacket) was a perfect example of how to mix patterns and colors. And I love that she added a little maroon colored hat on her beach waves… this was seriously one of the most fashion forward looks of the night!


img_8201

This was one of those looks that was simple, yet so pulled together.  I didn’t realize how creative @IvoryJinelle‘s look was until I saw her comment her dress was a “$3 thrifted dress, worn backward.”  The look was super chic and I think the pink platform and big hair just made it EVERYTHING!


img_8200

You already know my two favorite things in life are a romper & a pop of color and @eleeselindzz killed it at Curvy Cocktails!  The berry colored lace romper from Forever 21 looked super comfortable, yet playful with the deep V lace up front.  The silver purse and cream wedges pulled it all together!


img_8197

I was OBSESSED with this look the minute @cheekytboom walked in to the event!  I had seen this sheer lace dress at Forever 21, but wasn’t completely sure how I could pull it off.  The solid black bodysuit (here’s a similar bodysuit) is a perfect way to give this LBD a very sexy feel.  I’m sure this will be making an appearance in my wardrobe very soon!


img_8196

And last, but certainly not least is @MsKristine!  As the host and creator of Curvy Cocktails, she #slayed at the event!  This picture of her beautiful emerald green deep V dress doesn’t really do justices because in person it was to die for.  The Fashion to Figure dress hugs your curves just right (as you can see with Kristine) and the color makes you stand out in a crowd of LBDs… truly perfection!

Don’t you just love the inspiration?!  Events like this that celebrate curvy women and the fashion they wear needs to happen more in our society.  And honestly, I LOVED that these women were so comfortable in their own skin the entire night.  I hope that they have inspired you, like they inspired me because as beautiful and confident as you Curvy Girls are, I want you to know that our little large Curvy Society is #killingit at every turn!  Be sure to keep using the #BeInYourSkin hashtag because I want to see you guys showing off and showing out.

xoxo,

M

Leave a Reply

