… become a Meal Prep Diva!

If you’ve been following my Snapchat (@curvygirlscan) like good little followers, you’ve been probably LOVING my meal prep Sundays!  Each week I pick one simple and quick food to prep for the week that literally anyone can do.  From veggies to overnight oats, I really try to make an effort to prep food on the weekend, so that I’m not so crazed or tempted to eat out all the time during the week.  Also, one of my goals for the year is to eat healthier and skip eating out throughout the week (remember from the Goals Visionary post?), so taking a couple hours out of my Sunday to prepare my food for the week is really a time and money savor for me!  This week I wanted to share some tips and ideas with you on meal prepping because SO many people have questions/comments when I mention that I do it every week.  “Isn’t that expensive?” “That sounds like a lot of work and time!” “Don’t you get sick of eating the same thing over and over again?” “I like to relax on my weekends, not put in hours of work in the kitchen.”  Yea, sure I definitely put some time and energy into it each week, but trust me, it’s not as much as you would think!  Take a look at my tips and grocery list for next weeks meal prep.

The Curvy Girl’s Crash Course in Meal Prepping

Make a List

This is seriously a key part of successfully meal prepping!  How do I come up with my list? Simple, I come up with 1-2 main meals and 2 veggie dishes that I would want for the week and go from there.  This week I’m planning on Shrimp Fried (Cauliflower) Rice and baked Chicken Drumsticks with salt, pepper and fresh lemon juice (bake at 350 degrees for 45 mins- 1 hours) for my main meal with for veggies only planning to make Roasted Cabbage Steaks since my main dish is veggie based.  I always bases my meal off of what I have in the my fridge, so I’m not spending tons of $$$ on groceries.  This week the only things I’ll be purchasing to make these dishes are:

  • 1 large Green Cabbage ($2.00)
  • 1 bottle of Low Sodium Soy Sauce (this is my favorite brand) ($2.50)
  • 1 small Onion ($.75)
  • 1 Bag of Frozen Medium Shelled Shrimp ($15.00)
  • 1 lbs of Organic Chicken Drumsticks ($6.00)

That’s less than $30 for 2 meals a day this week! Not bad, right?  Taking a few minutes to scan your fridge and them make your meal plan; it will clearly save you money!

Commit to a Day & Time

This doesn’t seems like a big deal, but meal prep takes a bit of time to do.  You really do have to make a commitment to prepping your meals because it’s really easy to put it off (at least for me it is).  As I said earlier, I like to do it on Sundays after I work out; Sundays are my cleaning, doing laundry and organizing day, so it’s a perfect time to throw things in the oven.  Normally when I get home from my Kardio Krunk class, I pull out all of the ingredients I need and preheat the oven, so that things are “started” after my shower.  I like to start with the veggies since they are the easiest to steam or roast.  Then I move onto prepping for the main dishes of the week, so when the veggies are finished I can move right into cooking them.  Each week I purposely pick a main dish that can be baked because I can put it in and work on something else (who doesn’t love multitasking?).

Organizing the Meals

Once everything is done, I organize my meals!  I take my measuring cups and start putting the meals in reusable containers.  If you haven’t used measuring cups or are familiar with portion sizes, the chart below should help you!  Since my meal plan for the this week is VERY veggie based, I will be serving 1 Cup of veggies per meal.  For the chicken drumsticks, depending on the size of each, I’ll put 1-2 in each container with the cabbage steaks.  If you’re wondering about the “fried rice” dish, I’ll still measure it at 1 Cup per serving.  Once I’ve measured everything out in their individual containers, they go right into the fridge!  Taking the 15-20 minutes to prepare the meal individual containers might seem like an extra step, but this is SUPER important.  By prepping this way, it’s easier to grab a meal and go on busy mornings and to make sure you’re eating the correct portion.  It’s really been a time saver for me in the mornings; no more trying to figure out what to take for lunch while getting ready for work anymore!

meal portions
Food Portion Chart

Spice it Up

You know that feeling when you’ve eaten leftovers for too long and you’re over it… that happens every week for me!  Instead of wasting food, I might take one of the meals and spice it up with a new sauce or seasoning.  With the chicken drumsticks for example, on day 4 (that’s usually when I’m over eating the same stuff) I will take the chicken off the bone of 2 drumsticks and light saute the meat in coconut oil spray and a little Soy Ginger Sauce. I’ll even take veggies and do the same to just change up the flavor. It’s a great way not waste any food, but reinvent a meal!

Do you feel ready to prep all of your meals now?  I hope so because as daunting as meal prepping sounds, it’s really easy when you make a plan (no pun intended).  When I think of how long the process takes verses how much money I save on lunches and dinners out… meal prepping ALWAYS wins!  If you need more meal ideas, be sure to check out my weekly Snapchat story because I’m always trying new things.

xoxo,

M

 

Leave a Reply

